Thailandee!com

Share this page:
Home > Provinces of Thailand > Kanchanaburi

The province of Kanchanaburi

General information about the province of Kanchanaburi

Province capital: Kanchanaburi
Name in Thai: กาญจนบุรี

Location on map

kanchanaburi

Province of region Western Thaïlande

Kanchanaburi province is located in the western part of Thailand. A 2-hour drive from Bangkok, it is a popular destination for its history linked to the Second World War and for its nature and temples. Its River Kwai Bridge, immortalized in the film of the same name (even the one shown in the film is not the Kanchanaburi Bridge) is the best-known monument but there are other sites: museums, the Hellfire Pass, the portion of the Railway sadly nicknamed Death Train, military cemeteries and others to commemorate this dark period in the region. Besides that, between rivers, lakes, famous waterfalls and mountains with many caves, encounters with elephants, Kanchanaburi has a lot to offer passing tourists.

The Erawan National Park and its famous waterfalls attract many visitors, the Huay Mae Khamin Waterfalls, from my point of view just as pretty, are much less visited. Add hot springs and the charming little town of Snagkhlaburi and its wooden Mon Bridge and you still have just a small sample of everything the province has to offer!

As for festivals, the most important in the province of Kanchanaburi remains the Kwai River Bridge Week. there are also commemorative ceremonies, particularly for Anzac Day. I also recommend the candle illuminations of the hilltop temple of Thong Pha Phum for the 4 major Buddhist festivals of the year: Macha Bucha, Visakha Bucha, Asahna Bucha Day and Loy Krathong (less interesting on this day).

Whether discovering history, relaxing by the river or exploring the wilderness, Kanchanaburi province offers an unforgettable experience 2 hours from Bangkok.

Destinations to visit in Kanchanaburi

Kanchanaburi

First we want to contest the too much spread idea idea that apart from the River Kwai Bridge, there is nothing interesting to see in the area. It is true that by feet you can only go to the bridge, museums and the war cemetery and the rest is several kilometers far away. But there are many options to get there by bus or train. Otherwis, numerous taxi drivers and travel agencies will offer you their services. Surrounded by mountains, forests, with national parks nearby and magnificent waterfalls,...


Sangkhlaburi

Sangkhlaburi is split into two parts, a Thai one and a Mon part called Wangka. The two parts are connected by a wooden bridge. Built by Mons, it is the most famous image of Sangkhlaburi . Many minorities, Burmese essentially settled down in the region. They are tolerated but do not have the same rights as normal Thai citizen and their movements are controlled. You will see many checkpoints and notice that as a westerner, you will never be asked to show your papers because one thing is for sure,...


A little tip for the guide ?
If Thailandee.com website has helped you prepare your travel in Thailand, do not hesitate to give me a small tip by clicking on the button below. Thanks a lot !

transports thailande
Transports in Thailand
Type your departure city, your destination and the date of your trip.
Powered by 12Go Asia system
Traveling in Thailand
arrow_circle_right Find an hotel
arrow_circle_right Guesthouse Thailand


arrow_circle_right Travel by train
arrow_circle_right Travel by bus
arrow_circle_right Domestic flights
arrow_circle_right Boats in Thailand
arrow_circle_right Transports Bangkok

arrow_circle_right Visa rules
arrow_circle_right Health advice

All COVID-19 restrictions for coming to Thailand lifted from October 1 !

all covid-19 restrictions for coming to thailand lifted from october 1 !

We have been waiting for it for months, hoping it will happen on July 1, but it will finally be October 1, 2022, when Thailand will lift the last COVID restrictions to enter the country. From this date, it will no longer be necessary to show...

arrow_circle_rightarrow_circle_rightarrow_circle_right Read post

Thailandee!com

Partager cette page:

La province de Kanchanaburi

Informations générales sur la province de Kanchanaburi

Capital de la province: Kanchanaburi
Nom en Thaï: กาญจนบุรี

Emplacement sur la carte

kanchanaburi

Province de la région Thaïlande de l'Ouest

La province de Kanchanaburi est située dans la partie ouest de la Thaïlande. A 2 heures de route de Bangkok, c'est une destination prisée pour son histoire liée à la Seconde Guerre Mondiale et pour sa nature et ses temples. Son pont de la rivière Kwai, immortalisé dans le film du même nom (même celui montré dans le filme n'est aps le pont de Kanchanaburi) est le monument le plus connu mais il y a d'autres sites: des musées, le Hellfire Pass, la portion du Chemin de Fer tristemment surnommée Train de la Mort, des cimetières militaires et autres pour commémorer cette période noire de la région. A côté de ça, entre rivières, lac, cascades fameuses et montagnes avec beaucoup de grottes, rencontre avec les éléphants, Kanchanaburi a beaucoup à offrir aux touristes de passages.

Le parc national d'Erawan et ses fameuses cascades attirent beaucoup de visiteurs, les Huay Mae Khamin Waterfalls, de mon point de vue tout aussi jolies, sont beaucoup moins féquentées. Ajoutez des sources chaudes et la charmante petite ville de Snagkhlaburi et son pont Mon en bois et vous n'avez encore qu'un petit parçu de tout ce qu'offre la province !

Côté festival, le plus important de la province de Kanchanaburi reste la Semaine du pont de la Rivière Kwaï. il y a aussi des cérémonies commémoratives notamment pour l'Anzac Day. Je recommande aussi les illuminations à la bougies du temple perché de Thong Pha Phum pour les 4 grandes fêtes bouddhistes de l'année: Macha Bucha, Visakha Bucha, Asahna Bucha Day et Loy Krathong (moins intéressant ce jour-là).

Que ce soit pour la découverte de l'histoire, la détente au bord de la rivière ou l'exploration de la nature sauvage, la province de Kanchanaburi offre une expérience inoubliable à 2 heures de Bangkok.

Destinations à visiter dans la province de Kanchanaburi

Sangkhlaburi

La ville de Sangkhlaburi est séparée en deux, une partie thaïlandaise et une partie Mon étant appelé Wangka où vivent les Mon, les deux étant reliées par un pont en bois. Construit par les Mons, c'est lui qui a fait la réputation de Sangkhlaburi. Beaucoup de minorités, birmanes pour l'essentiel, se sont installées dans la région. Elles sont tolérées mais n'ont pas les mêmes droits que les Thaïlandais et leurs déplacements sont contrôlés. En vous déplaçant dans la région, v...


Kanchanaburi

Tordons déjà le coup à l'idée trop répandue qu'à part le pont de la rivière Kwaï, il n'y a rien d'intéressant à voir dans ce coin. C'est vrai qu'à pieds, vous ne pourrez vous rendre qu'au pont, aux musées et au cimetière et que tout le reste est à plusieurs kilomètres, dizaines de kilomètres voir encore plus. Mais il existe de nombreuses formules pour y aller, les bus ou le train. Sinon, nombre de taxi et agences de voyage sauront vous proposer leurs services. Véritable porte ou...


Un pourboire pour le guide ?
Si le site Thailandee.com vous a aidé à organiser un beau voyage en Thaïlande, n'hésitez pas à me laisser un petit pourboire (en cafés virtuels) en cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous. Merci beaucoup !

transports thailande
Les Transports en Thaïlande
Entrez votre ville de départ, votre ville de destination et la date de votre trajet.
Powered by 12Go Asia system
Voyage Thaïlande
arrow_circle_right Trouver un hôtel
arrow_circle_right Guesthouse


arrow_circle_right Voyager en train
arrow_circle_right Voyager en bus / van
arrow_circle_right Vols internes
arrow_circle_right Bateaux en Thaïlande
arrow_circle_right Transports Bangkok

arrow_circle_right Visa Thaïlande
arrow_circle_right Santé / vaccins

Nouvelles Règles de Visa en Thaïlande : Ce Que Vous Devez Savoir pour Votre Prochain Voyage

nouvelles règles de visa en thaïlande : ce que vous devez savoir pour votre prochain voyage

La Thaïlande vient de mettre ne place des changements majeurs à sa politique de visa avec comme mesure phare, le passage de l'exemption de visa de 30 à 60 jours. Ce qui signifie que pour les ressortissants de la liste des 93 pays (dont la...

arrow_circle_rightarrow_circle_rightarrow_circle_right Lire la suite